Canada - Sweden Relations

Canada and Sweden enjoy excellent bilateral relations based on people-to-people ties and mutually-beneficial economic partnerships. Canada and Sweden also share fundamental values and common approaches to key global issues, including a focus on inclusion and gender equality.

The Swedish diaspora in Canada has made a significant contribution to Canada and Canadian diversity.

The Embassy of Canada to Sweden, in Stockholm, represents Canada in that country, while the Embassy of Sweden in Ottawa represents that country in Canada. Sweden also operates consulates in Calgary, Edmonton, Halifax, Montréal, Québec, Regina, Toronto, Vancouver and Winnipeg.

As Arctic partners, Canada and Sweden also share a common interest in addressing the full range of northern issues. Canada and Sweden promote common objectives through various multilateral institutions, including the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), and the Arctic Council. The Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) will provide further opportunities to build an even stronger bilateral economic relationship.

Canada and Sweden have a number of bilateral agreements in place, including the International Experience Canada program, which allows young Canadians to live and work for a time in Sweden.

Relations Canada - Suède

Le Canada et la Suède entretiennent d'excellentes relations bilatérales fondées sur des relations interpersonnelles et des partenariats économiques mutuellement bénéfiques. Le Canada et la Suède partagent également des valeurs fondamentales et des approches communes à l'égard des grandes questions mondiales, notamment l'inclusion et l'égalité des genres.

La contribution de la diaspora suédoise au Canada est importante pour le Canada et la diversité canadienne.

L’ambassade du Canada en Suède, située à Stockholm, représente le Canada dans ce pays, tandis que l’ambassade de la Suède à Ottawa représente ce pays au Canada. La Suède compte également des consulats à Calgary, à Edmonton, à Halifax, à Montréal, à Québec, à Regina, à Toronto, à Vancouver et à Winnipeg.

En tant que partenaires dans l'Arctique, le Canada et la Suède ont aussi des intérêts communs en ce qui concerne l’ensemble des questions touchant le Nord. Les deux pays font la promotion d’objectifs communs par l'intermédiaire de diverses institutions multilatérales, notamment les Nations Unies, l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et le Conseil de l'Arctique. L'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne offrira aux deux pays davantage d’occasions de renforcer leurs relations économiques bilatérales.

Le Canada et la Suède ont conclu plusieurs ententes bilatérales, en outre sur la mobilité des jeunes dans le cadre du programme Expérience internationale Canada, qui permet à de jeunes Canadiens de vivre et de travailler pendant un certain temps en Suède.