Embassy of Canada hosts Canadian winner of 2013 Marcus Wallenberg Prize


Professor Derek Gray receives 2013 Marcus Wallenberg Prize from H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf.


Ambassador Macartney, Professor Derek Gray & Tom Rosser.

At a ceremony in Stockholm on 23rd September, H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf awarded the 2013 Marcus Wallenberg Prize to Professor Derek Gray of McGill University in Montreal. The Embassy of Canada later hosted a networking event in honour of Professor Gray’s achievement, which represents the sixth time the Prize has been awarded to a Canadian. The event was attended by Tom Rosser, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Canadian Forest Service of Natural Resources Canada.

Professor Gray received the Prize for his pioneering work on nanocrystalline cellulose (NCC), the rigid, needle-like crystals of cellulose chains which are liberated when a process of strong acid hydrolysis is applied to wood cellulose. Professor Gray’s research showed that cellulose crystals in water suspensions align spontaneously in a specific pattern, in turn creating unique optical properties. Like the iridescent wing sheaths of a beetle, films of these aligned cellulose crystals can change colour depending on the angle from which they are viewed. This discovery has extended the boundaries of the uses of forest raw material and in so doing has created the potential for a series of new forest industry products.

Professor Gray’s findings have inspired researchers all over the world to intensify their studies on nanocellulose in general, paving the way for future business opportunities in the forest industry. The liquid crystalline behaviour of hydrolyzed cellulose suspensions was first reported as early as 1951 by Bengt Rånby at Uppsala University in Sweden and subsequently in 1959 by Robert Marchessault at McGill University.

The Marcus Wallenberg Prize, which is worth SEK 2 million (approximately $320,000), has been awarded by the Marcus Wallenberg Foundation for Promoting Scientific Research in the Forest Industry since 1981. The mission of the Prize is to recognise, encourage and stimulate path breaking scientific achievements which significantly contribute to broader knowledge and / or technical development within the forest industry.

For further information, please see the website of the Marcus Wallenberg Prize.

L’Ambassade du Canada accueille le récipient du Prix Marcus Wallenberg 2013


Le Professeur Derek Gray se voit remettre le Prix Marcus Wallenberg 2013 par le Roi Carl XVI Gustaf.


L’Ambassadeur Macartney, le Professeur Derek Gray & Rom Rosser.

A une cérémonie organisée à Stockholm le 23 septembre, S.M. le Roi Carl XVI Gustaf a remis le Prix Marcus Wallenberg 2013 au Professeur Derek Gray de l’Université McGill de Montréal. L’Ambassade du Canada a organisé par la suite une session de réseautage en l'honneur de la récompense du Professeur Gray, qui est le sixième canadien à recevoir ce Prix. Tom Rosser, Sous-Ministre adjoint au Service canadien des forêts de Ressources naturelles Canada, était présent lors de cet événement.

Le Professeur Gray a reçu ce prix pour ses recherches pionnières sur la cellulose nanocristalline, les chaînes de cellulose rigides ressemblant à des aiguilles qui sont libérées lorsque qu’un important processus d’hydrolyse acide est appliqué à la cellulose du bois. Les recherches du Professeur Gray ont démontré qu’en suspension dans l’eau, les cristaux de cellulose s’orientent de manière spontanée selon un motif spécifique, ce qui à son tour engendre des propriétés optiques uniques. Tels les élytres d’un scarabée aux nuances de couleurs changeantes, les films de ces cristaux de cellulose orientés peuvent changer de couleur suivant la perspective d’observation où l’on se place. Cette découverte a repoussé les limites de ce qui était possible de faire avec la matière première du bois. Elle possède un potentiel suffisant pour concevoir toute une série de nouveaux produits dans le secteur de l’industrie forestière.

Les recherches du Professeur Gray ont inspiré des chercheurs du monde entier à intensifier leurs propres études sur la nano cellulose en général, ouvrant la porte à de futures opportunités commerciales dans l’industrie forestière. Le comportement cristallin liquide des suspensions de cellulose hydrolysée a été démontré dès 1951 par Bengt Rånby à l’Université d’Uppsala en Suède puis en 1959 par Robert Marchessault à l’Université McGill.

Le Prix Marcus Wallenberg, d’une valeur de 2 millions SEK (environ 320 000 $), est remis depuis 1981 par la Fondation Marcus Wallenberg pour la promotion de la recherche scientifique dans l’industrie forestière. Le but du Prix est d’encourager, stimuler et reconnaître les avancements techniques qui contribuent à un savoir-faire plus large et/ou au développement technique dans le domaine de l’industrie forestière.

Pour plus d’information, prière de consulter le site internet du Prix Marcus Wallenberg (disponible en anglais seulement).