Ambassador Macartney attends opening of Sami Parliament in Jokkmokk


Ambassador Macartney at the opening of the Sami Parliament.


Sami parliamentarians 2013-2017.

Ambassador Kenneth Macartney attended the ceremonial opening of the sixth session of the Sami Parliament in Jokkmokk on 28th August. More than 200 guests were present, including H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf, Minister for Rural Affairs Eskil Erlandsson, Minister for Trade and Minister for Nordic Cooperation Ewa Björling and Chairman of the Parliament of Greenland Lars Emil Johansen. Speaking at the opening, Ambassador Macartney recognised the importance of traditional ways of life and referred to Canada’s work on helping the North realise its potential as a healthy, prosperous and secure region.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Sami Parliament of Sweden, established in 1993 as a publicly-elected body and state agency representing the 20,000 Sami of Sweden. The Parliament comprises 31 members elected every four years by registered Sami voters, with the most recent election taking place on 19th May 2013.

Canada has long-standing links with the Sami Parliament and Sami society. The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister for the Environment and Minister for the Arctic Council, met with members of the Sami Parliament during the Arctic Council meeting in Kiruna in May 2013 and during her visit to Stockholm in December 2012. Numerous exchanges between First Nations in Canada and the Sami people have taken place over the years, for example through the collaboration between Vilhelmina Model Forest in Västerbotten County and Prince Albert Model Forest in Saskatchewan which has been supported by the Embassy of Canada to Sweden.

In May 2013 Canada assumed the chairmanship of the Arctic Council for a two-year period. The theme of Canada’s chairmanship is “development for the people of the North,” with a focus on responsible Arctic resource development, safe Arctic shipping and sustainable circumpolar communities.

For further information on the Sami Parliament, please visit the Parliament’s website.

L’Ambassadeur Macartney assiste à l’ouverture du Parlement Sami à Jokkmokk


L’Ambassadeur Macartney à l’ouverture du Parlement Sami.


Les parlementaires Sami 2013-2017.

L’Ambassadeur Kenneth Macartney a assisté à la cérémonie d’ouverture de la sixième session du Parlement Sami à Jokkmokk le 28 août. Plus de 200 invités étaient présents, parmi lesquels S.M. le Roi Carl XVI Gustaf, le ministre des Affaires Rurales Eskil Erlandsson, la ministre du Commerce et ministre de la Coopération Nordique Ewa Björling et le Président du Parlement du Groenland Lars Emil Johansen. Lors d’un discours prononcé à l’occasion de l’ouverture, l’Ambassadeur Macartney a reconnu l’importance des modes de vie traditionnels et a rappelé l’effort du Canada visant à aider le Nord à réaliser son potentiel de région saine, prospère et sécuritaire.

Cette année marque le 20ème anniversaire du Parlement Sami de Suède, établi en 1993 en tant qu’entité élue et agence gouvernementale représentant les 20 000 Sami de Suède. Le Parlement comprend 31 membres élus tous les quatre ans par les électeurs Sami enregistrés, la dernière élection s’étant tenue le 19 mai 2013.

Le Canada entretient des liens de longue durée avec le Parlement et la société sami. La ministre de l’Environnement et ministre responsable du Conseil de l’Arctique, l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, a rencontré des membres du Parlement Sami lors de la réunion du Conseil de l’Arctique qui s’est tenue à Kiruna en mai 2013 et lors de sa visite à Stockholm en décembre 2012. De nombreux échanges ont eu lieu entre les Premières Nations au Canada et le peuple sami au cours des dernières années, comme la collaboration entre la Forêt modèle de Vilhelmina dans le comté de Västerbotten et la Forêt modèle de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan, collaboration soutenue par l’Ambassade du Canada en Suède.

Le Canada a pris en mai 2013 la présidence du Conseil de l’Arctique pour une période de deux ans. Le thème de la présidence canadienne est le « développement au service de la population du Nord », avec un accent sur l’exploitation responsable des ressources de l’Arctique, la navigation sécuritaire dans l’Arctique et le développement de communautés circumpolaires durables.

Pour plus d’informations sur le Parlement Sami, prière de visiter le site internet du Parlement (en anglais et suédois seulement).