Canadian artist Bobbie Burgers exhibits work in Stockholm


Bobbie Burgers.


Heal Me, 2014, acrylic on canvas, 153 x 153 cm
(© Bobbie Burgers 2014).

New works by Canadian artist Bobbie Burgers will be exhibited at the Couture Galleri in Stockholm from 24th April-18th May 2014. An opening reception will be held in the presence of the artist on 24th April from 6.00pm-8.00pm.

Known for her bouquets, botanicals and landscapes, Vancouver-born Bobbie Burgers received a B.A. in Art History in 1996 from the University of Victoria and has since attained international stature following more than 60 solo exhibitions across Canada, the US and Europe.

Exhibition curator Kristina Lindemann describes Burgers’ work as follows: Jo Freeman’s theory ‘The Tyranny of Structurelessness’ on the havoc dismissed leadership can unleash in a society lacking a formal framework or pilotage is a difficult theory to commit to. In Burgers work, however, this theory takes an intriguing expression in her simultaneous repulsion and attraction to structure. By acknowledging painterly influences from art history instead of pretending independence, Burgers is able to create paintings that are astonishingly new in the highly symbolic tradition of floral paintings. She places the viewer in a moment of pleasure so pure that it makes ones heart still. These paintings tell stories, or rather, they collect The Stories That We Tell. We pick up bits and pieces of information, of emotion and carry them on and transform them into part of our being. They remind us of both joy and doubt, wishful thinking and careful distancing, of the chance and randomness that gives life its infinite beauty.

For further information on the exhibition, please visit the Couture Galleri website.

L’artiste canadienne Bobbie Burgers expose son œuvre à Stockholm


Bobbie Burgers.


Heal Me, 2014, acrylique sur toile, 153 x 153 cm
(© Bobbie Burgers 2014).

De nouveaux tableaux de l’artiste canadienne Bobbie Burgers seront exposés à la Gallerie Couture à Stockholm du 24 avril au 18 mai 2014. Le vernissage de l’exposition aura lieu en présence de l’artiste le 24 avril de 18h à 20h.

Originaire de Vancouver, Bobbie Burgers a reçu son baccalauréat en histoire de l’art en 1996 de l’Université de Victoria. Elle a depuis atteint un statut international avec plus de 60 expositions solo au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.

Kristina Lindemann décrit l’œuvre de Burgers de la façon suivante: La théorie de Jo Freeman « La tyrannie de l’absence de structure » sur les ravages que le manque de leadership peut causer dans une société dépourvue de cadre formel ou de direction est une théorie à laquelle il est difficile d’adhérer. Dans l’oeuvre de Bobbie Burgers, cette théorie s’exprime cependant de manière fascinante à travers la répulsion et l’attraction simultanées que l’artiste éprouve envers la structure. En reconnaissant les influences de l’histoire de l’art sur la peinture au lieu de prétendre à l’indépendance, Bobbie Burgers est capable de créer des peintures incroyablement nouvelles dans la tradition hautement symbolique de la peinture florale. Elle place le spectateur dans un moment de plaisir d’une telle pureté que son coeur en cesse de battre. Ces peintures racontent des histoires, ou plutôt recueillent Les histoires que nous contons. Nous prélevons des fragments d’information et d’émotion, les emportons et les transformons en une partie de notre être. Ils nous rappellent à la fois la joie et le doute, les voeux pieux et la distance prudente, la chance et le hasard qui donnent à la vie son infinie beauté.

Pour plus d’informations sur l’exposition, prière de visiter le site internet de la Gallerie Couture (disponible en anglais seulement).