Canada - Tanzania Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Tanzania in 1961 following the latter’s independence. In Tanzania, Canada maintains a High Commission in Dar es Salaam, which is concurrently accredited to Zambia, Comoros and Seychelles. In Canada, Tanzania maintains a High Commission in Ottawa.

Canada and Tanzania have shared interests in international fora such as the United Nations and the Commonwealth on important issues such as combatting climate change, sustainable development, refugees and regional peace and stability. Canada values the stabilizing role Tanzania plays through its active involvement in the East Africa Community, the African Union and the Southern African Development Community.

Since the 1960s, Canada has supported training for Tanzania’s armed forces. To date, over 850 officers have been trained through Canada’s Military Training Cooperation Program with Tanzania. In 2014, Canada contributed $1.3 million to build the new Tanzanian Peacekeeping Training Center in Dar es Salaam.

International Assistance

Tanzania is one of the largest recipients of Canada's international assistance ($141.2 M in 2017-18). Canada has contributed more than $2.38 billion in development assistance to Tanzania since its independence.

Canada’s bilateral development programming in Tanzania focuses on two action areas of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy: Human Dignity and Growth that Works for Everyone. Canada is among the largest bilateral donors in the health sector, providing significant support in maternal, newborn and child health. Canada is a lead bilateral donor in education, where our assistance is increasingly concentrated on teacher training aimed at improving the quality of education, especially for girls. Canada is also fostering broad-based and sustainable growth by supporting small and medium enterprises, skills development and economically empowering women.

For further information, please visit the Government of Canada- Canadian International Assistance in Tanzania webpage.

Commercial Relations

In 2018, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Tanzania totaled $131.9 million, consisting of $113.3 million in exports to, and $18.6 million in imports from Tanzania.

Tanzania is as a growing market for Canadian businesses, and Canadian mining companies are among the largest foreign investors in Tanzania. Business opportunities for Canadian companies active in Tanzania exist in power, renewable energy, and the emerging oil and gas sector. Canada is a strong advocate for corporate social responsibility (CSR) in Tanzania, having sponsored CSR conferences with strong participation from the Government of Tanzania, the business community and civil society organizations.

In the framework of Canada’s Market Access Initiative for Least Developed Countries, Tanzania has duty-free access to the Canadian market for almost all commodities. A bilateral Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) came into force in December 2013.

Other Relevant Information

Relations Canada-Tanzanie

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la Tanzanie en 1961, après l’accession de ce pays à l’indépendance. En Tanzanie, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Dar es Salaam, également chargé de la représentation canadienne en Zambie, aux Comores et aux Seychelles. Au Canada, la Tanzanie est représentée par son haut-commissariat à Ottawa.

Les deux pays partagent des positions communes dans plusieurs organisations internationales comme les Nations Unies et le Commonwealth, notamment sur des questions importantes telles que la lutte contre les changements climatiques, le développement durable, les réfugiés, et la paix et la stabilité régionales. Le Canada attache une grande importance au rôle stabilisateur que joue la Tanzanie en Afrique par sa participation active à la Communauté est-africaine, à l’Union africaine et à la Communauté de développement de l’Afrique australe.

Depuis les années 1960, notre pays aide à l’instruction des forces armées tanzaniennes. Jusqu’ici, plus de 850 officiers ont participé au Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada avec la Tanzanie. En 2014, le Canada a versé 1,3 million de dollars pour la construction du nouveau Centre de formation au maintien de la paix de la Tanzanie à Dar es Salaam.

Aide internationale

La Tanzanie est l'un des plus grands bénéficiaires de l'aide internationale du Canada (141,2 millions de dollars en 2017-18). Le Canada a versé plus de 2,38 milliards de dollars en aide au développement à la Tanzanie depuis son indépendance.

Le programme de développement bilatéral du Canada en Tanzanie cible deux domaines d'action de la politique d'aide internationale féministe du Canada : la dignité humaine et la croissance pour tous. Le Canada est l'un des plus importants donateurs bilatéraux dans le secteur de la santé, fournissant un soutien important en matière de santé maternelle, néonatale et infantile. Le Canada est l'un des principaux donateurs bilatéraux dans le domaine de l'éducation, où notre aide se concentre de plus en plus sur la formation des enseignant(e)s dans le but d’améliorer la qualité de l'éducation, particulièrement pour les filles. Le Canada encourage également une croissance économique durable et à large assise à travers son soutien pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, le développement de compétences, et l'autonomisation économique des femmes.

Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter la page suivante Gouvernement du Canada – L’aide internationale canadienne à la Tanzanie.

Relations commerciales

En 2018, les échanges de marchandises entre les deux pays ont atteint 131,9 millions de dollars : des exportations canadiennes de 113,3 millions de dollars vers la Tanzanie et des importations tanzaniennes de 18,6 millions de dollars au Canada.

La Tanzanie représente un marché en expansion pour les entreprises canadiennes. Les entreprises minières canadiennes font partie des investisseurs étrangers les plus importants dans ce pays. Des débouchés s’offrent aux entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs de l’électricité, de l’énergie renouvelable et des mines, ainsi que dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz, qui commence à se développer. Le Canada est un ardent défenseur de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) en Tanzanie, ayant parrainé des conférences sur la RSE avec une participation soutenue du gouvernement tanzanien, des milieux d’affaires et des organisations de la société civile.

Dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’accès aux marchés pour les pays les moins avancés, la Tanzanie bénéficie d’un accès en franchise de droits au marché canadien pour presque toutes les marchandises. L’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) conclu entre les deux pays est entré en vigueur en décembre 2013.

Autres renseignements pertinents