Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Thailand.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada - Cambodia Relations

Canada’s relations with Cambodia are managed by the Canadian embassy in Bangkok, Thailand, which opened an office in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, in September 2015. Bilateral political and commercial relations are conducted through the Office of the Embassy of Canada. Consular services for Canadians in Cambodia, including limited passport and citizenship services, are also available through the Office.

Cambodia’s representation in Canada is managed by the Cambodian mission to the United Nations in New York City, New York.

Canada’s bilateral relationship with Cambodia has spanned many decades, dating to the Indochina conflict, when Canada participated in the International Control Commission established in 1954. Canada is also a party to the Paris Peace Accords of 1991, which ended decades of conflict. Canada-Cambodia relations encompass the full range of political, economic, development and regional-security issues, as well as a promising commercial relations program.

Trade and investment

Bilateral merchandise trade has grown consistently and was valued at more than $1.3 billion in 2017. Cambodia benefits from Canada’s Market Access Initiative for least developed countries, which allows qualifying states quota-free and duty-free access to the Canadian market. Canada is one of Cambodia’s top export destinations. The value of Canadian imports from Cambodia grew from $20.9 million in 2002 to an impressive $1.3 billion in 2017.

Canada’s exports to Cambodia were valued at $51.5 million in 2017, with key sectors being fur skins and artificial fur, vehicles and industrial machinery. Exports are on an upward trend, increasing nearly 10-fold since 2013.

Canadian direct investment in Cambodia totalled $360 million in 2017.

Efforts by some Canadian businesspeople in Phnom Penh to provide more opportunities for Canadian companies to link with local businesses—and vice versa—led to the establishment of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Cambodia. It was launched in Phnom Penh on May 5, 2015, and continues to grow and become more active.

Bilateral cooperation

Canada and Cambodia cooperate on a variety of issues. This cooperation has been particularly productive in areas such as the international effort to ban anti-personnel mines and the training of border officials in interview techniques and detecting document fraud. Ongoing challenges include addressing issues of human rights, corruption, press freedom and the trafficking and exploitation of women and children in Cambodia.

Canada provides security capacity-building assistance through the Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program (CTCBP) and the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program. Through the CTCBP, Canada supports one bilateral and two regional projects implemented in Cambodia with funding totaling approximately $3.4 million in 2017.

People-to-people ties                                                                                                

Canadian non-governmental organizations work with Cambodian civil society groups to promote human rights and development. Canadians have established income-generation projects, set up businesses that offer sustainable employment and established organizations that help protect and promote human rights in Cambodia. These people-to-people links are enhanced by the more than 35,000 Canadians of Cambodian origin, the increasing number of Canadian visitors to Cambodia (72,100 in 2017), the estimated 7,000 Canadians living in Cambodia and the Cambodian students who come to Canada to study (115 in 2017).

Related links

September 2018


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-09-28

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Thaïlande.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Relations Canada - Cambodge

Les relations entre le Canada et le Cambodge sont gérées par l’ambassade du Canada à Bangkok, en Thaïlande, qui a ouvert un bureau à Phnom Penh, au Cambodge, en septembre 2015. Les relations politiques et commerciales bilatérales sont menées à partir du bureau de l’ambassade. Des services consulaires à l’intention des Canadiens au Cambodge, dont des services de passeport et de citoyenneté limités, y sont également offerts.

Le Cambodge est représenté au Canada par sa mission auprès des Nations Unies à New York.

Les relations bilatérales du Canada avec le Cambodge remontent à plusieurs dizaines d’années, plus précisément au conflit indochinois, lorsque le Canada a participé à la Commission internationale de contrôle créée en 1954. Le Canada est également partie aux Accords de paix de Paris de 1991, qui ont mis fin à des décennies de conflit. Les relations entre le Canada et le Cambodge englobent toute la gamme des questions de politique, d’économie, de développement et de sécurité régionale, ainsi qu’un programme de relations commerciales prometteur.

Commerce et investissement

Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a augmenté de façon constante, se chiffrant à plus de 1,3 milliard de dollars en 2017. Le Cambodge bénéficie de l’Initiative d’accès au marché canadien pour les pays les moins avancés, en vertu de laquelle les États admissibles bénéficient de l’accès hors contingent et en franchise de droits au marché canadien. Le Canada est l’une des principales destinations d’exportation du Cambodge. La valeur des importations canadiennes en provenance du Cambodge est passée de 20,9 millions de dollars en 2002 au montant impressionnant de 1,3 milliard de dollars en 2017.

Les exportations du Canada vers le Cambodge étaient évaluées à 51,5 millions de dollars en 2017, les principaux secteurs étant les fourrures et les fourrures artificielles, ainsi que les véhicules et les machines industrielles. Les exportations affichent une nette tendance à la hausse, puisqu’elles ont presque décuplé depuis 2013.

Les investissements directs canadiens au Cambodge se chiffraient à 360 millions de dollars en 2017.

Les efforts de certains entrepreneurs canadiens à Phnom Penh visant à ce que les entreprises canadiennes aient plus de possibilités de s’associer à des entreprises locales, et vice versa, ont mené à la création de la Chambre de commerce canadienne au Cambodge le 5 mai 2015, à Phnom Penh. La Chambre et ses activités n’ont cessé de croître.

Coopération bilatérale

Le Canada et le Cambodge collaborent sur diverses questions. La coopération a été particulièrement fructueuse dans des domaines tels que l’initiative internationale visant à interdire les mines antipersonnel et la formation des agents frontaliers aux techniques d’entrevue et à la détection des fraudes documentaires. Les difficultés actuelles ont notamment trait aux questions des droits de la personne, de la corruption, de la liberté de la presse, ainsi que du trafic et de l’exploitation des femmes et des enfants au Cambodge.

Le Canada fournit une aide au renforcement des capacités de sécurité dans le cadre du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes (PARCA) et du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC). Dans le cadre du PARCA, le Canada appuie un projet bilatéral et deux projets régionaux mis en œuvre au Cambodge, dont le financement total se chiffrait à environ 3,4 millions de dollars en 2017.

Relations interpersonnelles

Les organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes collaborent avec des groupes de la société civile cambodgienne pour promouvoir les droits de la personne et le développement. Les Canadiens ont mis sur pied des projets générateurs de revenus, créé des entreprises offrant des emplois durables et établi des organisations pour aider à protéger et à promouvoir les droits de la personne au Cambodge. Les liens interpersonnels sont renforcés par plus de 35 000 Canadiens d’origine cambodgienne vivant au Canada (72,100 en 2017), quelque 7 000 Canadiens vivant au Cambodge, un nombre croissant de visiteurs canadiens au Cambodge et des étudiants cambodgiens venant étudier au Canada (115 en 2017).

Liens connexes

Septembre 2018


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-09-28