Canada - Trinidad and Tobago Relations

Canada - Trinidad and Tobago Relations

Overview

Canada's relations with Trinidad and Tobago are close and long-standing. A full-time Trade Commissioner was first appointed to Port of Spain, in 1938. Official diplomatic relations were established in August 1962, immediately upon Trinidad and Tobago becoming an independent country.

In Trinidad and Tobago, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Port of Spain, which opened in 1962. The first Canadian High Commissioner was accredited in 1963.

Trinidad and Tobago is represented in Canada by the High Commission of Trinidad and Tobago in Ottawa. Trinidad and Tobago also has Consulates in Toronto and Winnipeg.

Today, the vibrant bilateral relations cover a wide spectrum of sectors including trade, education, science and technology, security, governance, culture, environment, sport and health. Both countries cooperate within the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the Organization of American States. Trinidad and Tobago has signed and ratified the Ottawa Landmines Convention and was a regional leader in ratifying and promoting the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, both initiatives strongly supported by Canada as well.

Security

Trinidad and Tobago has one of the largest Defence Forces in the Caribbean. The Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force has a long history of training with the Canadian Forces in Canada and has been a member of Canada’s Military Training Assistance Program since the 1970s. Cooperation between police forces is also significant.

Canada is also supporting the government of Trinidad and Tobago in reforming the justice sector and making crime fighting a priority.

Governance

Canada is actively engaged in the support of good governance in Trinidad and Tobago, often providing experts for conferences in various areas such as Multiculturalism and Anti-Corruption. Canada also provided experts to help in the training of Trinidad and Tobago’s Police Complaints Authority.

Prosperity

The economy of Trinidad and Tobago is the largest, most diversified and most industrialized in the Caribbean. Its major industries are petroleum and petroleum products, liquefied natural gas, methanol, ammonia, urea and steel products. The energy sector remains the main economic driver for Trinidad and Tobago.

In terms of Canada’s trade relationship with Trinidad and Tobago, bilateral merchandise trade totalled $481 million in 2017. Merchandise exports to Trinidad and Tobago amounted to$305 million and included oil, mineral ores, machinery, and food products. Canada imported $176 million worth of merchandise from Trinidad and Tobago in 2017 which included organic chemicals, food products, and more.

Canadian investments are concentrated in the petrochemical, oil, gas and financial sectors. Two Canadian companies are petrochemical world leaders with a long-established presence in Trinidad and Tobago’s Point Lisas Industrial Estate producing between them methanol, ammonia and urea.

Canada has a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) with Trinidad and Tobago, as well as a Double Taxation Agreement. In 2012, both a Technical Framework Arrangement (TFA) in the health sector and a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the modernization of the public sector was signed between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago. Also in 2012, a MoU between Memorial University (NF) and the T&T Ministry of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education was signed for enhanced collaboration in the field of marine services training.  In 2013 the Canadian Commercial Corporation signed a MoU with the Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of National Security.

Academic ties between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago are far-reaching and long-standing. Canadian Presbyterian missionaries were responsible for establishing educational institutions in the country some 100 years ago, institutions which still exist today. There are two private secondary schools which use a Canadian (Ontario) curriculum. Many prominent political and business figures have obtained some, if not all, of their tertiary education at Canadian universities. Today, many Trinidad and Tobago high school students continue to make Canada their country of choice to pursue their tertiary education. The High Commission in Port of Spain issues hundreds of study permits to citizens of Trinidad and Tobago every year.

Several local tertiary education institutions have signed cooperative agreements with a number of Canadian institutions to facilitate collaborative research projects, degree programmes, as well as staff and student exchanges. The University of New Brunswick has established a partnership with a local Trinidad and Tobago institution to deliver degree programs in collaboration.

Students enrolled in T&T universities are eligible for scholarships to study at Canadian universities, including under the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) and Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships.

May 2018

Relations Canada - Trinité-et-Tobago

Relations Canada - Trinité-et-Tobago

Aperçu

Le Canada entretient depuis longtemps des relations étroites avec Trinité-et-Tobago. C’est en 1938 qu’a été nommé le premier délégué commercial à plein temps à Port of Spain. Les relations diplomatiques ont été établies en août 1962, dès l’accession à l’indépendance de Trinité-et-Tobago.

À Trinité-et-Tobago, le Canada est représenté par le Haut-Commissariat du Canada à Port of Spain qui a ouvert ses portes en 1962. Le premier Haut-commissaire canadien a été accrédité en 1963.

Trinité-et-Tobago est représenté au Canada par un Haut-commissariat à Ottawa, ainsi que par des consulats à Toronto et Winnipeg.

Aujourd’hui, ces relations bilatérales dynamiques englobent tout un éventail de secteurs, dont le commerce, l’éducation, la science et la technologie, la sécurité, la gouvernance, la culture, l’environnement, le sport et la santé. Le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago coopèrent au sein du Commonwealth, des Nations Unies et l’Organisation des États américains. Trinité-et-Tobago a ratifié la Convention sur les mines terrestres et a été un chef de file régional en ce qui a trait à la ratification et la promotion du Statut de Rome de la Cour pénale internationale, soit deux initiatives fortement soutenues par le Canada également.

Sécurité

Trinité-et-Tobago maintient une des plus importante Force de défense dans les Caraïbes. Les Forces de défense de Trinité-et-Tobago ont une longue histoire de formation auprès des Forces canadiennes au Canada, et elles sont membres du Programme d’aide à l’instruction militaire du Canada depuis les années 1970. La coopération entre les forces policières est également importante.

Le Canada démontre aussi son support au gouvernement de Trinité-et-Tobago dans la réforme du secteur judiciaire et en faisant de la lutte contre la criminalité une priorité.

Gouvernance

Le Canada est bien impliqué dans l’appui à la bonne gouvernance à Trinité-et-Tobago en fournissant souvent  des experts pour des conférences sur des sujets tels que le multiculturalisme et la lutte contre la corruption. Le Canada a aussi fourni des experts pour aider à la formation de la Police Complaints Authority de Trinité-et-Tobago.

Prospérité

L’économie de la République de Trinité-et-Tobago est la plus grande, la plus diversifiée et la plus industrialisée de toutes les îles des Caraïbes. Le pétrole et les produits pétroliers, le gaz naturel liquéfié, le méthanol, l’ammonium, l’urée et les produits d'acier représentent ses plus grands secteurs industriels. Le secteur de l’énergie demeure le principal moteur économique pour Trinité-et-Tobago.

En ce qui concerne les relations commerciales entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago, en 2017, la valeur totale du commerce bilatéral de marchandise s’est chiffrée à 481 millions de dollars. L’exportation de marchandise vers Trinité-et-Tobago a totalisé 305 millions de dollars et incluait des produits comme le pétrole, les minerais, la machinerie et les produits alimentaires. Le Canada a importé pour 176 millions de dollars en biens provenant de Trinité-et-Tobago en 2017, ce qui incluait des produits chimiques organiques, des produits alimentaires et autres.

Les investissements canadiens sont principalement présents dans les secteurs de la pétrochimie, du pétrole, du gaz et  de la finance. Deux compagnies pétrochimiques canadiennes, bien établies dans la zone industrielle de Point Lisas à Trinité-et-Tobago, sont reconnues mondialement et produisent à elles deux du méthanol, de l'ammonium et de l'urée.

Le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago ont signé deux accords bilatéraux: l'Accord sur la promotion et la protection de l'investissement étranger (APIE) et l'Accord sur la double imposition en matière d'impôts. En 2012, une entente cadre-technique dans le domaine de la santé et un protocole d'entente sur la modernisation du secteur publique furent signés entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago. La même année, un protocole d'entente entre le Memorial University à Terre-Neuve et le Ministère de la science, de la technologie et de l'enseignement supérieur fut signé afin de renforcer la collaboration dans le domaine des services d'entraînement du personnel maritime.  En 2013, le Corporation commerciale canadienne a conclu un protocole d'entente avec le ministère de la sécurité national de Trinité-et-Tobago.

Les liens académiques entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago sont profonds et de longue date. Les missionnaires canadiens presbytres furent responsables de l'établissement d'institutions d'enseignement dans le pays il y a environ une centaine d'années, dont plusieurs existent encore de nos jours. Il existe deux écoles secondaires privées qui utilisent le curriculum canadien ontarien. De nombreuses personnalités politiques et économiques clés ont suivi une partie, sinon la majorité, de leur éducation de niveau collégiale ou universitaire dans des institutions canadiennes. Aujourd'hui,  de nombreux étudiants du secondaire de Trinité-et-Tobago continuent à se référer au Canada comme pays de choix pour poursuivre leurs études supérieures. Le Haut-commissariat à Port of Spain émet des centaines de permis d'études à des citoyens de Trinité-et-Tobago chaque année.

Plusieurs établissements d'études supérieures locaux ont signé des accords de coopération avec un grand nombre d'institutions canadiennes afin de faciliter les projets de recherche coopérative, les programmes d’études, ainsi que les échanges entre le personnel et les étudiants. L’Université du Nouveau Brunswick a établi un partenariat avec une institution locale à Trinidad-et-Tobago afin d'offrir en collaboration des programmes d'études.

Les étudiants inscrits à des universités trinidadiennes sont admissibles aux bourses d'études pour étudier dans des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens, de même que sous le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) et le Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM.

Mai 2018