Canada supports a “technology safe space” for youth to learn and excel

Youth from the impoverished community of Mon Repos, Morvant now have access to the latest in information technology, and a greater chance at success in school.

The community of Mon Repos is located on the outskirts of the capital Port of Spain — an area that is both impoverished and crime-ridden. There are no pre-schools, primary or secondary schools in the area. There are few facilities for youth activity, no recreational sports grounds or play parks for the children and youth of the community.


His Excellency Gérard Latulippe, (left) High Commissioner for Canada to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago cuts the ribbon to open the Kalifa Andrews Computer Lab in the community of Mon Repos.

Members of the community have been branded as part of the “criminal element” and deemed one of the "hot spots" that law enforcement watches closely. The youth in the area are surrounded by a dismal neighbourhood with little opportunity to escape or little encouragement to stay on the straight and narrow.

Thanks in part to a grant from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, the newly outfitted Information Technology (IT) centre of the Mon Repos community centre is now up and running. This safe space was designed specifically to assist youth with homework and other support activities in after school programs.

This new community space is a lighted beacon in the lives of the young people of the area. It is a dedicated space where they can focus on their education, which is the key to their success as it offers them a constructive alternative to getting involved in crime and self-destructive behaviour.

During the official opening of the centre, High Commissioner for Canada Gérard Latulippe commended the community for taking this bold step to ensuring a future for the youth in their area.

“Too often we forget that it is not only the responsibility of the Government, but also of the community to lay the foundation for the future of its youth. The success of a country must not only be measured in dollars and cents, but the solid community and societal bases must also be counted in the victories.”

- High Commissioner Gérard Latulippe

Mr. Terry Woodsley, Chairman of the Mon Repos Action Committee was proud to announce that the IT Centre would be named after a young lady from the area. Ms. Kalifa Andrews, in spite of her humble circumstances, has gone on to be leading sportswoman in her


Kalifa Andrews tries out one of the computers in the new community IT centre while other children from the community look on.

school in Shot-put, Discus and in the game of soccer. Mr. Woodsley hopes that Kalifa will be an inspiration to all the youth in her area so that they too can rise above their circumstances and excel.

Thirty years ago, the Mon Repos Community Centre was burnt down and was never rebuilt. In the absence of a central, accessible location to plan and coordinate activities, several community based entities such as the Village Council have become inactive.

In 2010, the Ministry of National Security’s Citizen Security Programme supported the creation of a Youth Friendly Space to provide a range of accessible and affordable pro-social and developmental services to residents of the community, with an emphasis on children and youth.

This space is now a vibrant hub of community development and provides a space for public and special meetings, training, and currently serves as the site for an after school programme and a parent education programme.

Le Canada appuie un centre de TI pour l’apprentissage et l’excellence des jeunes

Grâce à un accès aux plus récentes technologies de l’information, les jeunes de la collectivité défavorisée de Mon Repos dans le secteur de Morvant ont maintenant de plus grandes chances de réussir à l’école.

Mon Repos est situé à la périphérie de Port-d’Espagne, capitale de Trinité-et-Tobago – dans une zone marquée par la pauvreté et une forte criminalité. Dans ce secteur, point de prématernelles, ni d’ailleurs d’écoles primaires ou secondaires. Il n’y a pas d’installations pour les activités des jeunes, aucun terrain de sport ou aires de jeux pour les enfants du coin.

Les habitants de cette collectivité sont étiquetés comme faisant partie du monde de la criminalité et le village est désigné comme un point chaud surveillé étroitement par les forces de l’ordre. Grandissant dans cet environnement lamentable, les jeunes ont très peu de chances de s’en sortir et peu d’encouragements à rester dans le droit chemin.


Gérard Latulippe (à gauche), haut-commissaire du Canada à Trinité-et-Tobago coupe le ruban d’inauguration du Kalifa Andrews Computer Lab dans la collectivité de Mon Repos.

Grâce en partie à une subvention du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, le tout nouveau centre des technologies de l’information (TI) du centre communautaire de Mon Repos est maintenant en activité. Cet espace sûr a été conçu pour aider les jeunes à faire leurs devoirs d’école et pour y accueillir des activités parascolaires.

Cet espace communautaire est un point d’ancrage dans l’existence des jeunes de la région. C’est un lieu où ils peuvent se consacrer à l’apprentissage, ce qui est la clé de la réussite, car l’éducation leur offre une solution de rechange constructive à la criminalité et aux comportements autodestructeurs.

Lors de l’ouverture officielle du centre, le haut-commissaire du Canada Gérard Latulippe a félicité la collectivité pour avoir pris cette mesure courageuse afin d’assurer un avenir à sa jeunesse.

« Nous oublions trop souvent que ce n’est pas seulement la responsabilité du gouvernement de jeter les bases de l’avenir de la jeunesse, mais que c’est aussi celle de la collectivité.  La réussite d’un pays ne se mesure pas seulement en dollars, car de solides fondations pour les collectivités et la société sont également à mettre au compte des victoires d’une nation. »

                                                                  – Haut-commissaire Gérard Latulippe

M. Terry Woodsley, président du Comité d’action de Mon Repos était fier d’annoncer que le centre de TI prendrait le nom d’une jeune femme de la région. Kalifa Andrews, en dépit de ses humbles origines, est devenue une athlète de premier plan dans son école, au lancer du poids, au lancer du disque et au soccer. M. Woodsley espère que Kalifa sera une inspiration pour tous les jeunes du voisinage afin qu’ils puissent eux aussi s’élever au-dessus de la mêlée et se dépasser.


Entourée d’enfants du village, Kalifa Andrews se sert d’un des ordinateurs installés dans le nouveau centre communautaire de TI.

Il y a une trentaine d’années, le centre communautaire de Mon Repos a été réduit en cendre et n’a jamais été reconstruit. Sans un lieu central et accessible pour planifier et coordonner des activités, plusieurs structures communautaires comme le conseil du village avaient cessé de fonctionner.

En 2010, le programme sécurité citoyenne du ministère de la Sécurité nationale a soutenu la création d’un espace convivial pour les jeunes afin d’y offrir un éventail de services sociaux accessibles aux résidents et abordables, axés sur le développement, tout en mettant l’accent sur les enfants et les jeunes.

Cet espace est maintenant devenu un vibrant noyau d’activités et de développement communautaire qui offre un lieu de réunion et de formation, et qui sert aussi de local à un programme parascolaire et d’éducation des parents.