Canada - Tunisia Relations

Canada - Tunisia Relations

Canada and Tunisia established diplomatic relations in 1957. The two countries enjoy excellent bilateral relations and are members of La Francophonie. In 2020, the Tunisian diaspora in Canada represented nearly 35,000 people residing mainly in the province of Quebec. Canada, one of the top destinations for studies abroad, attracts more than 2,000 Tunisian students annually.

Canada welcomes the continued democratic transition in Tunisia since the Jasmine Revolution in January 2011 and the adoption of the Constitution in 2014. Canada is working with the Tunisian government, civil society and the international community to support decentralization and political, economic and social reforms in the country. In connection with Canada’s international feminist policy, Canada and Tunisia cooperate on gender equality, inclusive governance, the prevention of radicalization and the fight against terrorism. Canada works closely with Tunisia in multilateral fora such as the United Nations, La Francophonie and the African Union.

Although Canada and Tunisia are not bound by a bilateral extradition treaty, both countries are signatories to the United Nations Convention against Corruption and to the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime, which allow extradition, in accordance with Canadian law and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Canada has also passed the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act and the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations, which enforce written requests from the Tunisian government to freeze all assets deposited in Canadian financial institutions by senior executives of the former regime, as well as by members of their families and associates.

Trade Relations

Trade relations between Canada and Tunisia are expanding and Canada is determined to pursue new opportunities to strengthen trade ties between the two countries and expand bilateral investments. Tunisia presents valuable business opportunities for Canada in the sectors of agriculture, education, information and communications technology, and aerospace.

Our two countries have started negotiations with a view to concluding an Agreement on the promotion and protection of foreign investments and a Social Security Convention. In 2019, our two-way merchandise trade totaled CAD $ 239 million. Canadian exports were $ 98 million and imports were $ 141.5 million. The main commodities exported by Canada to Tunisia were grains and textile articles, and the main Canadian imports from Tunisia were olive oil, salt and dates. In 2019, Canadian direct investments in Tunisia amounted to $ 57 million.

International Assistance Program

At the Tunisia 2020 conference in November 2016, the Canadian Minister of International Development and La Francophonie announced international aid of $ 20 million over four years. The main orientations of this plan are aimed at:

  1. The socio-economic strengthening of vulnerable populations, in particular women and girls in disadvantaged regions, through vocational training, education and entrepreneurship;
  2. Green and sustainable economic growth in order to create jobs for young people and women;
  3. Inclusive and accountable governance in order to meet the needs of the most vulnerable people, strengthen respect for human rights, and promote the participation and representation of women in Tunisian society.

Since this announcement and consistent with Canada's Feminist International Aid Policy, bilateral aid has hovered around $ 5 million per year, mainly in the areas of women's economic empowerment and inclusive governance.
Since 2016, Canada has also allocated more than $ 10 million to the Canadian Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program to support Tunisia in stabilizing its borders and in the fight against terrorism and violent extremism.

Travel Advisory

Global Affairs Canada recommends anyone considering travel to Tunisia to check its travel advice and encourages travellers to register with Registration of Canadians Abroad service when outside of Canada.

Relations Canada - Tunisie

Relations Canada - Tunisie

Le Canada et la Tunisie ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1957. Les deux pays entretiennent d’excellentes relations bilatérales et sont membres de La Francophonie. En 2020, la diaspora tunisienne au Canada s’élevait à près de 35 000 personnes qui résident principalement dans la province de Québec. Le Canada, qui est l’une des destinations les plus populaires en ce qui a trait aux études à l’étranger, attire plus de 2 000 étudiants tunisiens chaque année.  

Le Canada se réjouit de la poursuite de la transition démocratique en Tunisie depuis la révolution du jasmin en janvier 2011 et l’adoption de la Constitution en 2014. Le Canada collabore avec le gouvernement tunisien, la société civile et la communauté internationale pour appuyer la décentralisation politique et les réformes économiques et sociales du pays. En lien avec la politique internationale féministe du Canada, le Canada et la Tunisie coopèrent en matière d’égalité des genres, de la gouvernance inclusive, de la prévention de la radicalisation et de la lutte contre le terrorisme. Le Canada travaille étroitement avec la Tunisie au sein de forums multilatéraux tels que l’Organisation des Nations Unies, l’Organisation internationale de La Francophonie et l’Union africaine.

Bien que le Canada et la Tunisie ne soient pas liés par un traité d’extradition bilatéral, les deux pays sont signataires de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption et de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée, conventions qui permettent l’extradition, en conformité avec le droit canadien et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Le Canada a également adopté la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus et le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie), qui rendent exécutoires les demandes écrites du gouvernement tunisien de bloquer tous les actifs déposés dans des institutions financières canadiennes par de hauts dirigeants de l’ancien régime, ainsi que par des membres de leur famille et leurs associés.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Tunisie sont en cours d’expansion et le Canada est déterminé à poursuivre de nouvelles occasions de resserrement des liens commerciaux entre les deux pays et d’expansion des investissements bilatéraux. La Tunisie présente des débouchés commerciaux dignes d’intérêt pour le Canada dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, de l'éducation, des technologies de l’information et des communications, et de l’aérospatiale.

Nos deux pays ont entamé des négociations en vue de conclure un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers et une Convention de sécurité sociale. En 2019, nos échanges bilatéraux de marchandises se chiffraient à 239 millions de dollars canadiens. Les exportations canadiennes étaient de 98 millions de dollars et les importations de 141,5 millions de dollars. Les principales marchandises exportées par le Canada vers la Tunisie étaient les céréales et les articles textiles, et les principales importations canadiennes en provenance de la Tunisie étaient de l’huile d’olive, sel et dattes. En 2019, les investissements directs canadiens en Tunisie se chiffraient à 57 millions de dollars.    

Le programme d’aide internationale

À l’occasion de la conférence Tunisie 2020 en novembre 2016, la ministre canadienne du Développement international et de la Francophonie a annoncé une aide internationale de 20 millions de dollars à la Tunisie sur quatre ans. Les principales orientations de ce plan visent :

  1. Le renforcement socio-économique des populations vulnérables, notamment des femmes et des filles en régions défavorisées et ce, par l’entremise de la formation professionnelle, de l’éducation et de l’entreprenariat;
  2. La croissance économique verte et durable afin de créer des emplois pour les jeunes et les femmes;
  3. La gouvernance inclusive et responsable afin de répondre aux besoins des personnes les plus vulnérables, de renforcer le respect des droits de la personne, et de favoriser la participation et la représentation des femmes dans la société tunisienne.

Depuis cette annonce et en fonction de la politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, l'aide bilatérale se situe autour de cinq millions de dollars par année, principalement dans les secteurs du renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes et de la gouvernance inclusive.

Depuis 2016, le Canada a également consacré plus de 10 millions de dollars au Programme canadien de renforcement des capacités en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme dans le but de soutenir la Tunisie à stabiliser ses frontières et à lutter contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent.

Avis aux voyageurs

Affaires mondiales Canada recommande aux Canadiens et Canadiennes qui envisagent de se rendre en Tunisie de lire son avertissement et encourage les voyageurs à s’inscrire à l’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger lorsqu’ils sont à l’extérieur du Canada.