Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Canada Gallery
Meryl McMaster: As Immense as the Sky


At Canada House, the safety and welfare of our staff and our visitors is our top priority. In an effort to combat the spread of COVID-19, also known as coronavirus, we have therefore decided to close Canada Gallery as a precautionary measure until further notice. We hope visitors understand this decision and look forward to reopening soon. In the meantime, follow us on social media for regular updates on Canada's response to COVID-19.


Canada Gallery

Canada Gallery - How to find us
The High Commission of Canada in the United Kingdom
Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission (security screening in place)

March 6 to June 2020

The High Commission of Canada in the United Kingdom and The Baldwin in partnership with IKON Gallery present: Meryl McMaster: As Immense as the Sky.

Collage - L-R: Edge of a Moment, 2017 | Cartography of the Unseen, 2019

L-R: Edge of a Moment, 2017 | Cartography of the Unseen, 2019

Of Plains Cree, British and Dutch ancestry, Meryl McMaster’s sculptural photography expands our understanding of self-hood. Incorporating props, garments and performance, the artist adopts fluid guises to explore the intersections of her Indigenous and European heritage, revealing Canada’s conflicted histories.

Curated by Verity Seward and Oceana Masterman-Smith, this is the first solo presentation of McMaster’s work in London and includes photographs from her latest series As Immense as the Sky (2019) and Edge of a Moment (2017).


The Canada Gallery’s ongoing programme is generously supported by the Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Canada Gallery - Archive

Footer

Date Modified:
2020-03-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Galerie Canada
Meryl McMaster : Aussi vaste que le ciel


À la Maison du Canada, la sécurité et le bien-être de notre personnel et de nos visiteurs est l'une de nos principales priorités. Afin de lutter contre la propagation de la COVID-19, également connu sous le nom de coronavirus, nous avons donc décidé de fermer la Galerie du Canada jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Nous espérons que les visiteurs comprendront cette décision prise dans une période difficile et nous espérons rouvrir bientôt. En attendant, suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux pour des mises à jour régulières sur la réponse du Canada à la COVID-19.


Galerie Canada

Galerie CanadaComment nous trouver
Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni
La Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Entrée Pall Mall, entrée gratuite (contrôles de sécurité en place)

Du 6 mars à juin 2020

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni et The Baldwin en partenariat avec la galerie IKON présentent : Meryl McMaster : Aussi vaste que le ciel.

C-D : L-R: Edge of a Moment, 2017 | Cartography of the Unseen, 2019

 G-D : She gathers the Rain, 2018 | Birth of an Avatar (Homage to Mariko Mori), 2017

Puisant dans ses origines Cris des plaines, britanniques et néerlandaises, la photographie sculpturale de Meryl McMaster élargit notre compréhension de l’individualité. Dans une mise en scène qui joue avec les accessoires et les vêtements, l’artiste adopte des formes fluides pour explorer la jonction entre son héritage autochtone et européen, révélant les conflits de l’histoire du Canada.

Organisée et préparée par Verity Seward et Oceana Masterman-Smith, cette exposition est la première présentation solo des œuvres de McMaster, à Londres et comprend des photographies de ses dernières séries, Aussi vaste que le ciel, (2019) et Au bord de l’instant (2017).


Le programme permanent de la Galerie Canada bénéficie du généreux soutien de notre commanditaire principal, la Fondation Dahdaleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2020-03-17