Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Canada House presents Floe Edge: Contemporary Art and Collaborations from Nunavut

Galerie Canada Gallery

Canada Gallery - How to find us
Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission (security screening in place)

30 Sept – 30 Dec 2016
Mon – Sat 11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

Floe Edge: Contemporary Art and Collaborations from Nunavut

The Canada Gallery is delighted to present a new exhibition that celebrates the vibrant contemporary art from the territory of Nunavut in Canada’s Arctic.

Sculpture - Hunter with Kakivak (2014)Floe Edge: Contemporary Art and Collaborations from Nunavut brings together 18 artists and collaborators to create an exhibition that reflects the culture, spirit and challenges of this unique region.  Every spring, the dark open waters of the Arctic Ocean meet the frozen sea ice along a line called the floe edge, a dynamic ecosystem where sea, animals and humans congregate around floating chunks of sea ice or floes that move with the tide and melt with the changing temperatures.

The floe edge is an apt metaphor for the work of the artists presented in this exhibition, who—like the free-moving ice floes—have remarkably active practices that integrate personal, cultural, and historical narratives.

In a context where “art” has been best translated as sanaugait, an Inuktitut word that means “things made by hand”, it is no wonder that artistic practices are focused on the experience of “making”. Pieces in this exhibit include a large-scale, realistic doll crafted of fur; sealskin lingerie and high-fashion shoes; a film that captures temporary paintings on melting, shifting walls of ice; and pieces that employ traditional methods and materials - coupled with a playful charm - to tell contemporary stories of Inuit life.

The artists brought together for this exhibition find power in being more than one thing; in working as an artist and as an office worker, in using new media to represent traditional practices and in using traditional media to represent new forms and new ideas.

Drawing - He is the Walrus (2015)They all possess a strong connection to one of the world’s most remote and sparsely populated regions. Yet, it is a region where fully one quarter of all adults – 4,000 people – are practicing artists. These artists are at the intersection of current contemporary art practice, at the creative point where art and life melt into each other – they are at that point where the open ocean meets the frozen sea – they are at the floe edge.

Images:
Hunter with Kakivak (2014), Mona Netser

He is the Walrus (2015), Ningeokuluk Teevee

Notes:

We would like to acknowledge the Government of Nunavut Department of Economic Development and Transportation, Kakivak Association and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada for their kind support.

The exhibition is organized by AXENÉO7 and the Nunavut Arts & Crafts Association and presented by Canada House.

The Canada Gallery’s ongoing program is generously supported by our Principal Sponsor - Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Canada Gallery - Archive

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-02

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

La Maison du Canada présente Dérives de glace : Art contemporain et collaborations du Nunavut

Galerie Canada Gallery

Galerie CanadaComment nous trouver
La Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Entrée Pall Mall, entrée gratuite (contrôles de sécurité en place)

30 septembre – 30 décembre 2016
Du lundi au samedi de 11h00 à 17h45

Dérives de glace : Art contemporain et Collaborations du Nunavut

La Galerie Canada est heureuse de présenter une nouvelle exposition qui célèbre l’art contemporain dynamique du territoire du Nunavut dans l’Arctique canadien.

La poupée – Hunter with Kakivak

Dérives de glace : Art contemporain et Collaborations du Nunavut réunit 18 artistes et collaborateurs pour créer une exposition qui reflète la culture, l’esprit et les défis de cette région unique. À chaque printemps, les vastes eaux noires de l’océan Arctique rencontrent la glace d’eau salée le long d’une ligne qu’on appelle le bord de la banquise, un écosystème dynamique où la mer, les animaux et les êtres humains se rassemblent autour d’immenses plaques de glace d’eau salée (les banquises), qui suivent le courant et fondent sous l’effet des changements de température.

La dérive de glace s’avère être une métaphore appropriée pour parler du travail des artistes présentés dans cette exposition qui, comme les banquises circulant en toute liberté, ont des pratiques remarquablement actives où sont incorporés récits personnels, culturels et historiques.

Dans un contexte où « l’art » a été traduit par sanaugait, un mot inuktitut qui signifie « choses faites à la main », il n’est pas étonnant que les pratiques artistiques portent sur l’expérience de « faire ». Les pièces qui composent cette exposition comprennent une grande poupée réaliste en fourrure, de la lingerie en peau de phoque et des chaussures de haute couture ; un film qui capte des peintures temporaires sur des murs de glace qui fondent et se déplacent et des objets fabriqués avec des méthodes et des matériaux traditionnels, le tout avec un charme ludique, pour raconter des histoires contemporaines de la vie des Inuits.

Dessin encadré – He is the WalrusLes artistes réunis pour cette exposition tirent leur puissance de leur multiple identité ; travailler comme artiste et comme employé de bureau, utiliser de nouveaux supports pour représenter des pratiques traditionnelles et utiliser des supports traditionnels pour représenter des formes et des idées nouvelles.

Tous possèdent un lien fort avec le Nunavut, une des régions les plus éloignées et les moins densément peuplées du monde. Pourtant, c’est une région où environ un quart de tous les adultes – 4 000 personnes – sont des artistes pratiquants. Ces artistes sont à la jonction de la pratique actuelle de l’art contemporain, au point de création où l’art et la vie se fondent l’un dans l’autre. Ils se situent au point où le grand large rencontre la mer gelée, autrement dit, à la bordure de la banquise.

Images :
La poupée – Hunter with Kakivak (2014), Mona Netser
Dessin encadré – He is the Walrus (2015), Ningeokuluk Teevee

Information complémentaire :

Nous tenons à remercier le Département du développement économique et du transport du gouvernement du Nunavut, la Kakivak Association et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada pour leur aimable soutien.

Cette exposition est organisée par AXENÉO7 et la Nunavut Arts & Crafts Association et est présentée par la Maison du Canada.

Le programme permanent de la Galerie Canada est généreusement financé par notre principal sponsor, la Fondation Dahdaleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-02