Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Canada Gallery:
Group of Seven Guitar Project

Canada GalleryCanada Gallery - How to find us
Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission (security screening in place)

28 June – 10 November 2018
Monday to Saturday
11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

Jean Larrivée l Tony Duggan-Smith l George Gray l Sergei de Jonge l Grit Laskin l Linda Manzer l David Wren

The Canada Gallery is pleased to present this special Group of Seven Guitar Project.

7 Guitars

This exhibition centres on seven masterwork guitars commissioned by the McMichael Canadian Art Collection in Kleinburg, Ontario. Each guitar is inspired by a member of Canada’s Group of Seven artists – the first recognised homegrown art movement formed in the 1920s. The McMichael is home to Canada’s most extensive collection of their work.

The Group of Seven came together in their shared belief that direct contact with nature could create a distinctive Canadian art form. In this exhibition, seven Canadian master luthiers have also joined forces to create pieces that speak to their work in forging a collective legacy that has shaped the global guitar-making industry.

Luthier Linda Manzer recognised the same creative camaraderie of artists united by a common love for Canada and unstoppable drive to master their materials, which is how the seeds of this exhibition were sown.

The connections made here – between each guitar maker and each Group of Seven painter – are sometimes explicit and, at other times, much more subtle and subjective.

While these luthiers have enjoyed making guitars for musicians such as Joan Baez, Bruce Cockburn, K.D. Lang, Jesse Cook, Paul Simon, Pat Metheny, Carlos Santana and Gordon Lightfoot, to name a few, this McMichael commission provided a certain amount of artistic freedom to the luthiers.

Each of the seven luthiers featured chose a Group of Seven member as their inspiration – these carefully crafted guitars are the magical result.

This exhibition was made possible thanks to the McMichael Canadian Art Collection.

The Canada Gallery’s ongoing programme is generously supported by the Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Canada Gallery - Archive

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-09-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Galerie Canada :
Le projet de guitare Groupe des Sept

Galerie CanadaGalerie CanadaComment nous trouver
La Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Entrée Pall Mall, entrée gratuite (contrôles de sécurité en place)

28 juin – 10 novembre 2018
Du lundi au dimanche de 11h00 à 17h45

Jean Larrivée l Tony Duggan-Smith l George Gray l Sergei de Jonge l Grit Laskin l Linda Manzer lDavid Wren

La Galerie Canada est ravie de présenter ce projet de guitare Groupe des Sept.

Sept guitares

Cette exposition présente sept guitares exceptionnelles, commandées par la Collection McMichael d’art canadien de Kleinburg, dans l’Ontario. Chaque guitare s’inspire d’un des artistes canadiens du Groupe des Sept, le premier mouvement artistique canadien, reconnu comme tel dans les années 1920. Le McMichael comprend la plus grande collection d’œuvres du Groupe des Sept du Canada.

Les membres du Groupe des Sept partageaient la conviction que le contact direct avec la nature pouvait créer un art typiquement canadien. Dans cette exposition, sept maîtres luthiers canadiens ont également uni leurs efforts pour créer des pièces qui évoquent leur travail et forgent un héritage collectif qui a façonné l’industrie mondiale de la lutherie de guitares.

La luthière Linda Manzer a reconnu la même camaraderie créatrive chez ces artistes unis par un amour commun du Canada et une envie irrésistible de maîtriser leurs matériaux, ce qui a donné naissance à cette exposition.

Dans certains cas, les rapports entre le luthier et le peintre du Groupe des Sept de son choix sont explicites et dans d’autres bêaucoup plus subtils et subjectifs.

Si ces luthiers ont pris plaisir à fabriquer des guitares pour des musiciens comme Joan Baez, Bruce Cockburn, K.D. Lang, Jesse Cook, Paul Simon, Pat Metheny, Carlos Santana et Gordon Lightfoot, pour ne nommer que ces derniers, la commande du McMichael leur accordait une certaine liberté artistique.

Chacun des sept luthiers présentés ici s’est inspiré d’un des membres du Groupe des Sept et ces guitares soigneusement ouvrées en sont le résultat magique.

Cette exposition a été rendue possible grâce à Collection McMichael d’art canadien.

Le programme permanent de la Galerie Canada bénéficie du généreux soutien de notre commanditaire principal, la Fondation Dahdaleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-09-07