Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

The Canada Gallery presents The Tremendous Elusive: Emily Carr and the Canadian Imaginary

Galerie Canada Gallery

Canada Gallery - How to find us
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission

22 April –  18 June 2016
Daily 11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

Image: A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth

The Canada Gallery is delighted to present a new exhibition centred around two key works by renowned Canadian artist Emily Carr.

The Tremendous Elusive: Emily Carr and the Canadian Imaginary pivots on late career pieces by Carr – generously on loan from the Vancouver Art Gallery - and presents them alongside a selection of photographs, paintings, drawings, textile and sculptural works by contemporary artists from across the country drawn from the wider Canada House collection.

The Carr pieces, Wood Interior (1932-35) and A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth (1935), date from a time after the artist took advice from Lawren Harris, the Canadian modern painter and member of the Group of Seven, to examine more deeply her creative impulse towards the landscape and to pursue “the tremendous elusive” of “what lies behind”.

Carr’s own imaginary evolved alongside the formulation of her Canadian identity.  She was particularly influenced by travels abroad as a young artist. In 1899, she travelled to London to study and spent five years in the United Kingdom, visiting Scotland, Cornwall and Devon, as well as museums and galleries, including ethnographic collections at the British Museum.

Those experiences and the pieces in his exhibition serve as a starting point to explore the perception of Canada from within and outside our national borders. Carr’s influence is continually revealed through the work of fellow Canadian artists, and is a vision that is widely exported.

The contemporary artists included in this exhibition reveal new imaginaries, beyond the still-popular motifs of snow, land and forest, and bring to light ideas of Canada that are post-colonial and geo-political, that celebrate a new reality of First Nations art, revealing its diversity and complexity. In so doing, this exhibition provides a true 21st century view of Canada, seeded in the work of one of Canada’s most influential artists. 

Image: A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth

Notes:

Emily Carr’s work was the subject of a critically-acclaimed exhibition – From the Forest to the Sea: Emily Carr in British Columbia - at the Dulwich Picture Gallery in 2014-15.

This exhibition is curated by Canadian curator and consultant Lisa Baldisserra and was made possible thanks to the Vancouver Art Gallery and OMERS.

The Canada Gallery's ongoing programme is generously supported by the Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Canada Gallery - Archive

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-04-15

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

La Galerie Canada présente L'insondable profondeur: Emily Carr et l’imaginaire canadien

Galerie Canada Gallery

Galerie CanadaComment nous trouver
On y accède gratuitement par l’entrée Pall Mall

22 avril au 18 juin, 2016
Tous les jours de 11 h à 17 h 45

Image : A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth

La Galerie Canada est ravie de présenter une nouvelle exposition axée sur deux œuvres majeures de la célèbre artiste canadienne, Emily Carr.

L'insondable profondeur : Emily Carr et l’imaginaire canadien est centrée sur des œuvres tardives de Carr – généreusement prêtées par la Vancouver Art Gallery – qu'elle présente aux côtés d'une sélection de photographies, de peintures, de dessins, de textiles et de sculptures d'artistes contemporains de tout le pays, tirés de la vaste collection de la Maison du Canada.

Carr réalisa Wood Interior (1932-35) et A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth (1935), après que Lawren Harris, le peintre moderne canadien et membre du Groupe des Sept, lui eut conseillé de puiser au plus profond de ses pulsions créatrices pour évoquer le paysage et de poursuivre « l'insondable profondeur derrière les apparences ».

Le propre imaginaire de Carr a évolué en parallèle avec la naissance de son identité canadienne.  Lorsqu'elle était encore une jeune artiste, elle a été particulièrement influencée par ses voyages à l'étranger. En 1899, elle s'est rendue à Londres pour y étudier et a passé cinq ans au Royaume-Uni; elle a visité l'Écosse, la Cornouaille et le Devon, ainsi que des musées et galeries, dont le British Museum qui abrite des collections ethnographiques.

Ces expériences et les œuvres exposées servent de point de départ pour explorer comment le Canada est perçu à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de ses frontières nationales. L'influence de Carr est sans cesse visible dans les œuvres des autres artistes canadiens et est une vision largement exportée.

Les artistes contemporains présentés dans cette exposition révèlent de nouveaux imaginaires, au-delà des motifs toujours populaires de la neige, du paysage et des forêts et mettent en lumière des images postcoloniales et géopolitiques du Canada, qui célèbrent une nouvelle réalité de l'art des Premières Nations dont elles révèlent la diversité et la complexité. Ainsi, cette exposition reflète une image fidèle du Canada au 21e siècle, dont on trouve l'origine dans l'œuvre d'une des artistes les plus influentes du Canada. 

Image: A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth (1935)

Information complémentaire :

En 2014-2015, les œuvres d'Emily Carr ont fait l'objet d'une exposition saluée par la critique – From the Forest to the Sea : Emily Carr in British Columbia à la Dulwich Picture Gallery.

L'exposition à la Galerie Canada est organisée par conservatrice canadienne Lisa Baldisserra et a été rendue possible grâce à la Vancouver Art Gallery et à OMERS.

Le programme permanent de la Galerie Canada est généreusement financé par la Fondation Dahdaleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-04-15