Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Canada House celebrates
the very best of Canadian art and design

London, United Kingdom, 19 February 2015  – The revitalized Canada House on Trafalgar Square has drawn upon the diverse talents of Canadian artisans and craftspeople from coast to coast to coast in order to deliver a building that celebrates the very best of Canada in the 21st century.

Bocci lighting installation

Throughout the newly-renovated building – which links the Grade II listed heritage side of the original Canada House on Trafalgar Square with an adjacent building on Cockspur Street – Canadian artists have been tapped to provide the inspiration behind custom-made carpets that are featured in dedicated meeting rooms named after each of Canada’s provinces, territories and oceans.

From visual artists to custom furniture and lighting designers, to the materials and abundance of Canadian wood, at every turn Canada House celebrates leading design and outstanding products.

High Commissioner for Canada to the United Kingdom, Gordon Campbell, said of the art and design choices: “From the very start, we wanted this building to be a showcase for Canada’s very best. We want to make sure everyone who visits us leaves with the knowledge that Canadian products, creativity and know-how are ready to take on the world.”

Visitors to Canada House are treated to some of the finest examples of forward-looking design that relies on Canadian materials wherever possible. Key examples include:

  • Bocci lighting installation. Celebrated Vancouver designer Omer Arbel created 57.157, the 14.5-metre high glass and metal chandelier that provides a clear contrast between old and new from its position in the grand staircase.
  • Warren Carther glass wall. The Winnipeg-based glass artist has created a backlit structural glass wall featured in the Sir Wilfred Laurier Room that evokes images of Canada ranging from the beaver to snow.
  • Edmonton’s IZM, a furniture company specializing in hand-made furniture, contributed tables and credenzas to several of the rooms, including one for the dedicated Alberta room.  Made of Canadian white oak, walnut and maple, the pieces inject a modern sensibility into their surroundings.
  • Quebec wood artist Kino Guérin has fashioned two benches from single strips of material – including a signature ‘Why Knot’ bench that add a playful touch to the building.
  • New Brunswick based woodworker Jamie Landry used local wood to create several pieces for the Atlantic Room. He said: “I’ve always been proud to be Canadian. Having my pieces help represent the country is a great way to do it.”
  • Sabina Hill of Port Moody in British Columbia collaborated with Mark Preston, a First Nations artist born in Dawson Creek, Yukon to create a striking signing table that will sit at the entrance to Canada House. The piece incorporates western red cedar, bronze and glass and evokes the traditional watchmen of B.C.’s Tlingit culture.
  • Ontario-based Style Garage created a stunning walnut meeting room table and credenza for the Ontario Room. Toronto-based Creative Matters was responsible for the creation of spectacular custom rugs based throughout the building.

The renewal of Canada House was led by Stantec, a global design firm with deep Canadian roots.

“Our goal for this project was to restore Canada House to its architectural glory – to create a jewel for Canada in the heart of the UK,” says Aaron Taylor, architectural lead on the project.

“It’s been so exciting to see the building transformed back to its original Neo-Classical form,” says Cindy Rodych, lead interior designer on the project. “Today, Canada House is rich with light and activity. It’s a place where staff and guests can delight in 19th century charm flavoured by 21st century design.”

cci lighting installationFor more information about Canada House and the showcase of artisans, craftspeople, designers and artists from across Canada, please contact: LDNPublicAffairs@international.gc.ca

For media inquiries only, please contact:

Caroline Mallan
Canadian High Commission
caroline.mallan@international.gc.ca

OR

Christie Tucker
Canadian High Commission
christie.tucker@international.gc.ca

Stantec contact:
Rachel Sa
Public Relations Lead, Canada East
Rachel.Sa@stantec.com
Tel : 416-598-5699
Mob : 416-902-0930

Editors Notes:

The official opening of Canada House by Her Majesty The Queen, accompanied by The Duke of Edinburgh, on 19 February 2015 completes the consolidation of Canada’s diplomatic activities in the UK. This included the purchase of the adjacent building on Cockspur Street in 2012 and the subsequent sale of the property on Grosvenor Square.  Staff moved into the newly-refurbished Canada House in mid-December 2014.

Details of the contributions of artists and designers from each Canadian province are also available.

Past releases on the Canada House Project:

Canada Announces Plans to Consolidate Presence in London
Canada Exchanges Contracts on Sale of London Site 
Canada Completes Sale of Grosvenor Square Property in London 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-03-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

La Maison du Canada célèbre l’art et le design du Canada

Londres, Royaume-Uni, 19 février 2015 – La Maison du Canada sur Trafalgar Square, récemment rénovée,  a puisé dans le bassin très diversifié d’artistes et d’artisans d’un bout à l’autre du pays pour aménager un édifice qui célèbre le Canada du 21e siècle.

Luminaire Bocci

Partout dans l’édifice, qui réunit le bâtiment original de la Maison du Canada sur Trafalgar Square, classé monument de grade II, et un bâtiment adjacent donnant sur Cockspur Street, des artistes canadiens ont fourni les œuvres qui ont servi de modèle et d’inspiration pour les tapis faits sur mesure qu’on pourra admirer dans les salles de réunion nommées d’après tous les territoires, provinces et océans du Canada.

Dans tous les coins de la Maison du Canada, les œuvres d’artistes des arts visuels et de concepteurs de meubles et d’éclairage, les matériaux et l’abondance du bois canadien sont autant de témoignages de la qualité du design et des produits canadiens.

Le Haut-commissaire du Canada au Royaume-Uni, Gordon Campbell, a déclaré, à propos des choix artistiques et de design : « Dès le départ, nous voulions que cet édifice soit une vitrine pour ce que le Canada a de mieux à offrir. Nous voulons nous assurer que tous les visiteurs repartiront en sachant que les produits canadiens, notre créativité et notre savoir-faire sont prêts à conquérir le monde. »

Les visiteurs de la Maison du Canada auront la chance d’admirer des exemples raffinés de design avant-gardiste qui mettent en valeur les matériaux canadiens. Par exemple :

  • Luminaire Bocci. Le designer vancouvérois de renom Omer Arbel a créé 57.157, un luminaire de verre et de métal de 14.5 mètres de hauteur qui procure un vif contraste entre l’ancien et le nouveau dans le grand escalier où il se trouve.
  • Mur de verre de Warren Carthers. L’artiste verrier de Winnipeg a créé un mur de verre qui orne la salle Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier.
  • La firme IZM d’Edmonton, une entreprise spécialisée en ameublement fait à la main, a fourni des tables et des crédences pour plusieurs salles, dont l’élégante crédence de la salle de l’Alberta. Faits de chêne blanc, de noyer et d’érable du Canada, ces meubles apportent au décor une note de sensibilité moderne.
  • L’ébéniste québécois Kino Guérin a fabriqué deux bancs faits d’un seul ruban de bois courbé, dont un intitulé « Why Knot » qui ajoute une touche de fantaisie à l’édifice.  
  • L’ébéniste Jamie Landry du Nouveau-Brunswick a utilisé le bois local pour créer plusieurs pièces destinées à la salle de l’Atlantique. Il a fait ce commentaire : « J’ai toujours été fier d’être Canadien. Que mes œuvres servent à représenter le pays est une magnifique façon de l’exprimer. »
  • Sabina Hill, de Port Moody en Colombie-Britannique, a collaboré avec Mark Preston, un artiste autochtone de Dawson City, Yukon, pour créer une table qui sera placée à l’entrée de la Maison du Canada et qui servira à la signature de documents. La table, faite de cèdre rouge de l’Ouest, de bronze et de verre, évoque les gardiens traditionnels de la culture Tlingit de Colombie-Britannique.
  • La firme ontarienne Style Garage a créé une étonnante table de conférence en noyer et une crédence pour la salle de l’Ontario. L’entreprise torontoise Creative Matters a été chargée de la fabrication de spectaculaires tapis  pour plusieurs pièces de l’édifice.

La rénovation de la Maison du Canada a été dirigée par Stantec, une firme de design mondiale ayant de solides racines au Canada.

« Notre but pour ce projet était de redonner à la Maison du Canada toute sa gloire architecturale et de créer un joyau pour représenter le Canada au cœur du Royaume-Uni », a déclaré Aaron Taylor, architecte en chef du projet. 

« Ce fut passionnant de voir l’édifice retrouver son style néo-classique original », affirme Cindy Rodych, principale designer d’intérieur du projet. « Aujourd’hui, la Maison du Canada s’enrichit de lumière et d’activité. C’est un lieu où le personnel et les visiteurs pourront admirer le charme du 19e siècle, avec la saveur du design du 21e siècle. »

Luminaire BocciPour en savoir plus sur la Maison du Canada,
veuillez communiquer avec : LDNPublicAffairs@international.gc.ca.

Pour des renseignements sur les médias uniquement, veuillez contacter :

Lauren Harris
Chef des communications
Haut-commissariat du Canada
lauren.harris@international.gc.ca

OU

Kayla De Nardi
Attachée de presse et des réseaux sociaux
Haut-commissariat du Canada
kayla.denardi@international.gc.ca

Contact à Stantec :
Rachel Sa
Relations avec les médias, Canada-Est
Rachel.Sa@stantec.com
Tel : 416-598-5699
Mob : 416-902-0930

Notes aux rédacteurs :

L’ouverture officielle le 19 février de la Maison du Canada par Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth, accompagnée du duc d’Édimbourg, marque l’achèvement du projet de regroupement des activités diplomatiques canadiennes au Royaume-Uni. Le projet prévoyait l’acquisition d’un bâtiment adjacent sur Cockspur Street en 2012 et la vente de l’immeuble situé sur Grosvenor Square. Le personnel a déménagé dans la Maison du Canada rénovée en décembre 2014.

Détails des contributions d'artistes et de designers de chacune des provinces canadiennes sont également disponibles.

Communiqués d’information :

Le Canada annonce son intention de renforcer sa présence à Londres
Le Canada échange des contrats en vue de la vente d’un immeuble à Londres
Le Canada finalise la vente de sa propriété de Grosvenor Square à Londres 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2020-02-14