Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

HE The Honourable Ralph E. Goodale, PC

High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Permanent Representative of Canada to the International Maritime Organization

Ralph Goodale
Ralph Goodale
   

Ralph Goodale assumed his responsibilities as High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in April 2021.

Raised on a family farm near Wilcox, Saskatchewan, Mr. Goodale received a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Regina in 1971, and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Saskatchewan in 1972. He has practical experience in business, law, agriculture and broadcasting, as well as federal and provincial politics.

Ralph Goodale was first elected to the Parliament of Canada in 1974 at the age of 24, representing Saskatchewan’s sprawling rural riding of Assiniboia. In the 1980s, he served as leader of the provincial Liberal Party, and was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan in 1986.

Mr. Goodale returned to the House of Commons in 1993 as the Member of Parliament for Wascana, and was subsequently re-elected seven consecutive times, becoming Regina’s longest-serving MP. A member of the federal Cabinet under three Prime Ministers, he was appointed Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food (1993-1997), Minister of Natural Resources (1997-2002), Leader of the Government in the House of Commons (2002), Minister of Public Works and Government Services (2002-2003), Minister of Finance (2003-2006), and Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness (2015-2019).

In March 2020, Mr. Goodale became a special advisor to the Prime Minister for Canada’s response to Iran’s shooting down of Ukraine International Airlines Flight PS752, which claimed the lives of 55 Canadian citizens, 30 permanent residents of Canada and dozens of others with Canadian links. This role is on-going in pursuit of transparency, accountability and justice for the families of the victims.

Mr. Goodale is accompanied by his wife, Pamela.

Footer

Date Modified:
2021-05-13

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

S.E. L’honorable Ralph E. Goodale, c.p.

Haut-commissaire du Canada au Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation maritime internationale

Ralph Goodale
Ralph Goodale
   

Ralph Goodale a assumé ses responsabilités en tant que Haut-commissaire du Canada au Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord en avril 2021.

M. Goodale a grandi sur la ferme familiale près de Wilcox, en Saskatchewan. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts arts de l’Université de Regina en 1971 et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de la Saskatchewan en 1972. Il possède de l’expérience en affaires, en droit, en agriculture et en radiodiffusion ainsi qu’en politique fédérale et provinciale.

Ralph Goodale a été élu au Parlement du Canada pour la première fois en 1974 à l’âge de 24 ans pour représenter la vaste circonscription rurale d’Assiniboia, en Saskatchewan. Dans les années 1980, il a été chef du Parti libéral au niveau provincial et il a été élu à l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan en 1986.

M. Goodale est revenu à la Chambre des communes en 1993 comme député de Wascana, puis il a été réélu sept fois de suite, devenant ainsi le député de Regina ayant les plus longs états de service. Membre du Conseil des ministres fédéral sous trois Premiers ministres, il a été nommé ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire (1993-1997), ministre des Ressources naturelles (1997-2002), leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes (2002), ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (2002-2003), ministre des Finances (2003-2006), et ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile (2015-2019).

En mars 2020, M. Goodale est devenu conseiller spécial du premier ministre chargé de la réponse du Canada à la tragédie du vol PS752 de la Ukraine International Airlines abattu par l’Iran, qui a coûté la vie de 55 citoyens canadiens, 30 résidents permanents du Canada et des douzaines d’autres ayant des liens au Canada. Ce rôle continue dans la poursuite de la transparence, la responsabilité et la justice pour les familles des victimes.

M. Goodale est accompagné de sa femme, Pamela.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2021-05-13