Canada - Venezuela Relations

Canada and Venezuela have shared unbroken diplomatic relations since February 1948, when the Consulate General of Canada in Caracas was opened. In January 1953, the Consulate General was elevated to embassy status, and since this time Canada has been represented by the Embassy of Canada to Venezuela.

Canada’s embassy in Caracas works with a broad cross-section of Venezuelans to support human rights and good governance. In 2009, the embassy worked with the Centre for Peace and Human Rights at the Universidad Central de Venezuela [Central University of Venezuela] to launch a Human Rights Award that recognizes the important work of Venezuelan human rights defenders. This annual award is now considered to be among the top honours for those in the human rights community in Venezuela.

Two-way goods traded between Canada and Venezuela totalled $215.3 million in 2017. Merchandise exports to Venezuela totalled $197.3 million, and imports from Venezuela totalled $17.9 million.

Canada and the Venezuela crisis

Canada is deeply concerned by the suffering of the Venezuelan people. Canada remains strongly committed to the promotion and protection of democracy and human rights. In response to attacks on Venezuelans’ democratic and human rights by the regime of President Nicolás Maduro, Canada has imposed three rounds of sanctions. These sanctions target individuals responsible for the crisis. Canada has also downgraded its diplomatic relations with Venezuela in an effort to push for the peaceful restoration of Venezuela’s democracy.

Since 2017, Canada has provided more than $2.2 million in humanitarian assistance funding. This assistance helps meet the needs of the most vulnerable populations affected by the crisis. Canada also continues to provide support through multilateral programs and through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, managed by the Embassy of Canada to Venezuela.

For more information, please visit Canada and the Venezuela crisis.

August 2018

Relations Canada - Venezuela

Le Canada et le Venezuela entretiennent des relations diplomatiques ininterrompues depuis l’ouverture, en février 1948, du consulat général du Canada à Caracas. En janvier 1953, le consulat général a été élevé au rang d’ambassade et, depuis, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada au Venezuela.

L’ambassade du Canada à Caracas travaille avec un large éventail de Vénézuéliens en vue d’appuyer les droits de la personne et la bonne gouvernance. En 2009, l’ambassade, en collaboration avec le Centre pour la paix et les droits de la personne de l’Universidad Central de Venezuela, a instauré le Prix des droits de la personne reconnaissant le travail important accompli par les Vénézuéliens qui défendent les droits de la personne. Aux yeux de ces derniers, ce prix annuel est devenu l’un des plus grands honneurs.

Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises entre le Canada et le Venezuela ont totalisé 215,3 millions de dollars en 2017. Les exportations de marchandises vers le Venezuela se sont élevées à 197,3 millions de dollars tandis que les importations en provenance du Venezuela ont atteint 17,9 millions de dollars.

Le Canada et la crise au Venezuela

Le Canada est profondément préoccupé par les souffrances du peuple vénézuélien et demeure fermement résolu à promouvoir et à protéger la démocratie et les droits de la personne. En réponse aux attaques du régime du président Nicolas Maduro contre les droits de la personne et les droits démocratiques des Vénézuéliens, le Canada a imposé trois séries de sanctions, lesquelles visent les responsables de la crise. Le Canada a également réduit ses relations diplomatiques avec le Venezuela dans le but d’accélérer le rétablissement pacifique de la démocratie dans le pays.

Depuis 2017, le Canada a fourni plus de 2,2 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire en vue de répondre aux besoins des populations les plus vulnérables touchées par la crise. Le Canada continue également de fournir son soutien par l’entremise de programmes multilatéraux et du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, lequel soutien est géré par l’ambassade du Canada au Venezuela.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Le Canada et la crise au Venezuela.

Août 2018