Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Vietnam.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Message from the Ambassador of Canada to Vietnam

Welcome!

Deborah Paul

   

Welcome to the website of the Canadian Embassy in Hanoi. Whether you are a Canadian looking to expand into the growing Vietnamese market or in need of passport or consular assistance, we are here to help. For Vietnamese looking to import from, invest or study in Canada, we look forward to hearing from you. I hope that the information provided here will help you learn more about the services offered by my team and Canada’s close partnership with Vietnam.

Canada and Vietnam have a long-standing relationship that pre-dates the establishment of formal diplomatic relations in 1973. Canada was a key contributor to the International Commission for Supervision and Control that monitored the Geneva Agreement of 1954 which ended hostilities between France and Vietnam and to the International Commission of Control and Supervision that monitored the 1973 Paris Peace Agreement on Ending the War and Restoring Peace in Vietnam. Canada has also been a strong development partner for Vietnam for over 25 years, and has been proud to play a role in its rapid socio-economic development. Today, our relations are continuing to expand, framed by the Comprehensive Partnership established in 2017 and further strengthened by the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership.

We are both strong supporters of multilateral institutions and work together in the United Nations, World Trade Organization, la Francophonie, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), the ASEAN Regional Forum, and Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), in which Canada is a Dialogue Partner. Canada was pleased to support Vietnam’s candidacy for a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council from 2020-2021, and Canada is working hard to be elected to the Security Council in 2021-2022.

Our people-to-people ties continue to grow thanks to a dynamic Vietnamese-Canadian community in Canada, the growing number of Vietnamese who study at our world-class academic institutions, and the increasing number of Canadian tourists who are discovering the natural beauty, culture and vibrant cities of Vietnam.

I encourage you to stay in touch with the Embassy. You can write to us directly at hanoi@international.gc.ca. For Canadians in Vietnam, it only takes a few minutes to register so that we can reach you in an emergency by clicking on Registration of Canadians Abroad.Please visit the Travel Advice and Advisories page for Vietnam for up to date travel advice. If you have questions about visas or immigration to Canada, please consult the detailed information from Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

I invite you to explore this website and to follow us on Facebook, which provides information on Canadian values, culture, development cooperation and trade successes in Vietnam, and to receive important notices to the community.

Thank you for your interest in the Embassy.

Deborah Paul, Ambassador of Canada to Vietnam

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-07-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Vietnam.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Message de l’ambassadeur du Canada au Vietnam

Bienvenue!

Deborah Paul

   

Bienvenue sur le site de l'ambassade du Canada à Hanoi. Que vous soyez un Canadien cherchant à prendre de l'expansion sur le marché vietnamien en croissance ou ayant besoin d'un passeport ou d'une assistance consulaire, nous sommes là pour vous aider. Pour les Vietnamiens souhaitant importer, investir ou étudier au Canada, n'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous. J'espère que les informations fournies vous aideront à en apprendre davantage sur les services offerts par mon équipe et sur le partenariat étroit que le Canada entretient avec le Vietnam.

Le Canada et le Vietnam entretiennent une relation de longue date qui précède l'établissement des relations diplomatiques officielles en 1973. Le Canada a largement contribué à la Commission internationale de surveillance et de contrôle, chargée de surveiller l'Accord de Genève de 1954 qui a mis fin aux hostilités entre la France et le Vietnam, et à la Commission internationale de contrôle et de surveillance qui a surveillé l'Accord de Paris de 1973 sur la fin de la guerre et le rétablissement de la paix au Vietnam. Le Canada est également un partenaire important de développement pour le Vietnam depuis plus de 25 ans et est fier de jouer un rôle dans son développement socio-économique rapide. Aujourd'hui, nos relations continuent de se développer dans le cadre du partenariat global établi en 2017 et renforcé par l'Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste.

Nous sommes tous deux de fervents défenseurs des institutions multilatérales et travaillons ensemble aux Nations Unies, à l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, à la Francophonie, à la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC), à l'Association des nations de l'Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) et son forum régional dans lesquels le Canada est un partenaire de dialogue. Le Canada était heureux d’appuyer la candidature du Vietnam à un siège non permanent au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies pour la période 2020-2021, et le Canada s’efforce de faire de son mieux pour être élu au Conseil de sécurité en 2021-2022. 

Les liens entre nos populations ne cessent de croître grâce à la dynamique de la communauté canado-vietnamienne au Canada, au nombre croissant de Vietnamiens qui étudient dans nos institutions universitaires de calibre mondial et au nombre croissant de touristes canadiens qui découvrent la beauté naturelle des paysages, la culture et les villes dynamiques du Vietnam. 

Je vous encourage à rester en contact avec l'ambassade. Vous pouvez nous écrire directement à hanoi@international.gc.ca. Pour les Canadiens au Vietnam, il ne faut que quelques minutes pour vous inscrire afin que nous puissions vous joindre en cas d'urgence en cliquant sur Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger. Visitez la page Conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements pour le Vietnam pour obtenir des conseils de voyage à jour. Si vous avez des questions sur les visas ou l'immigration au Canada, veuillez consulter les informations détaillées d'Immigration, réfugiés et citoyenneté Canada.

Je vous invite à explorer ce site Web et à nous suivre sur Facebook, qui fournit des informations sur les valeurs canadiennes, la culture, la coopération pour le développement et les succès commerciaux au Vietnam, et à recevoir des avis importants destinés à la communauté. 

Merci de votre intérêt pour l’ambassade.

Deborah Paul, Ambassadeur du Canada au Vietnam

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-07-26