Canada-Angola relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Angola in 1978. The embassy to Zimbabwe in Harare serves Angola, as does an honorary consulate in Luanda.

Canada and Angola maintain positive relations, the result originally of Canada’s important role in Angola’s peace process and since then based on the countries’ shared desire for peace and prosperity.

In the 2016 to 2017 fiscal year, Canada provided Angola with $6.75 million in international assistance, the majority of it channeled through long-term institutional support of multilateral organizations with activities in Angola.  

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, administered by the embassy in Harare, provides support to local organizations that promote human rights, gender equality and empowerment of women and girls in Angola.

In 2017, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Angola totalled a value of $250.4 million, with $80.9 million worth of Canadian exports to, and $169.5 million of imports from, Angola. Top Canadian merchandise exports to Angola include beans, textiles and machinery. The top Canadian merchandise import from Angola is diamonds.

More information

November 2018

Relations Canada-Angola

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec l'Angola en 1978. L’ambassade du Canada au Zimbabwe, à Harare, dessert l’Angola, tout comme le consulat honoraire à Luanda.

Le Canada et l’Angola entretiennent de bonnes relations résultant à l’origine du rôle important joué par le Canada dans le processus de paix de l’Angola et depuis lors fondées sur le désir mutuel de paix et de prospérité des deux pays.

Durant l’année financière 2016-2017, le Canada a versé 6,75 millions de dollars en aide internationale à l’Angola, dont la majeure partie a été acheminée par l’entremise d’un appui institutionnel à long terme à des organisations multilatérales ayant des activités en Angola.

Le Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, géré par l’ambassade d’Harare, fournit un soutien aux organisations locales qui défendent les droits de la personne, l'égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles en Angola.

En 2017, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et l’Angola a totalisé 250,4 millions de dollars, soit 80,9 millions de dollars d’exportations du Canada vers l’Angola et 169,5 millions de dollars d'importations de l’Angola. Les principales exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers l’Angola sont les haricots, les textiles et les machines. Les principales importations canadiennes en provenance d'Angola sont les diamants.

Plus d’information

Novembre 2018