Canada - Botswana Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Botswana in 1966, following its independence. Canada is accredited to Botswana from our embassy in Harare, Zimbabwe. Botswana is accredited to Canada from its embassy in Washington, D.C., and has honorary consuls based in Toronto and Edmonton.

Canada’s relations with Botswana are anchored in our Commonwealth ties and our shared commitment to human rights, freedom of expression, the rule of law and democracy. Botswana has also benefited over the years from Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Program. 

In 2016-17, Canada provided $1.4 million in international assistance to Botswana, the majority of which was channelled through long-term support to multilateral organizations with activities in Botswana. Canada also provides scholarships and training opportunities for Botswanan students and professionals.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives administered by the Embassy of Canada to Zimbabwe has provided support to local organizations to promote human rights and the empowerment of women and girls.

In 2017, two-way merchandise trade totalled $579.5 million, comprising $578.4 in exports to, and $1.1 million in imports from, Botswana. Top Canadian merchandise exports to Botswana include diamonds, machinery and electrical products. Top Canadian imports from Botswana comprise mainly diamonds and textiles. Canadian investments in Botswana's mining sector exceeded $300 million in 2016. Botswana presents further opportunities for Canadian businesses in the mining and clean technology sectors.

Other relevant information

August 2018

Relations Canada - Botswana

Le Canada entretient des relations diplomatiques avec le Botswana depuis l’indépendance de ce pays en 1966. Le Canada est accrédité auprès du Botswana depuis son ambassade à Harare, au Zimbabwe. Le Botswana est accrédité auprès du Canada depuis son ambassade à Washington, et il compte des consuls honoraires à Toronto et à Edmonton.

Les relations entre le Canada et le Botswana sont ancrées sur leur appartenance au Commonwealth et sur leur engagement commun à l’égard des droits de la personne, de la liberté d’expression, de l’état de droit et de la démocratie. Le Botswana a aussi bénéficié au fil des ans du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada.

En 2016-2017, le Canada a versé 1,4 million de dollars en aide internationale au Botswana, la plus grande partie de cette somme prenant la forme d’un soutien à long terme aux organisations multilatérales qui y mènent des activités. Le Canada offre également des bourses d’études et des possibilités de formation aux étudiants et aux professionnels botswanais.

Administré par l’ambassade du Canada au Zimbabwe, le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales apporte un soutien à des organisations locales qui œuvrent à la promotion des droits de la personne et du renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles.

En 2017, les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises se sont élevés à 579,5 millions de dollars : le Canada a exporté pour 578,4 millions de dollars vers le Botswana et en a importé pour 1,1 million de dollars. Les diamants, la machinerie et les produits électriques sont au nombre des principales exportations de marchandises du Canada à destination du Botswana. Le Canada importe principalement des diamants et des textiles de ce pays. En 2016, les investissements canadiens dans le secteur minier du Botswana se chiffraient à plus de 300 millions de dollars. Le Botswana offre d’autres débouchés aux entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs des mines et des technologies propres.

Autres renseignements pertinents

Août 2018